A Misunderstood Mentor 42 – Professor Deus’ Miscalculation


Ex points the machine gun in her right hand towards me.
The thing known as a gun was developed in Southcity, it’s a tool that allows anyone to easily kill.
Bringing it into the Rushia Kingdom is strictly prohibited and those who do face a heavy punishment.
Only a select few are allowed to own them such as Super Hunter Dagan and Half Machine Machina who have permits from the guild or people given special license from the country.
Ex is probably one of the latter.
If that’s the case, there may be a traitor in a fairly high position within the Rushia kingdom.
Figuring out who that is would be a step closer to discovering the mastermind but…..

“As expected of Takumi-kun”

The one who spoke out to me was not Ex, who is pointing the gun at me, but Professor Deus at her side.

“With your power you could easily reduce Ex to pieces. However, you haven’t done so because you’ve noticed it haven’t you?”

Yeah, I can’t do that.
And it’s not like I’ve noticed anything in particular either.

“That Ex has enough explosives on her body to reduce this mountain to rubble”
“Ehhhh!?”

The exclamation of surprise didn’t come from me.
It seems that the bombs were placed without Ex’s knowledge
Shaken, she takes her eyes off me.
Making use of that opening I roll into the shadow of the stone.

“Open fire, Ex”
“What did you do!! You damn perverted fathead!!”

The angered Ex fires away with her machine gun.
I reflexively cover my ears at the sound of the gunfire chipping away at the rock.
If she’s going to shoot at someone then I’d prefer if she looked towards the one who put bombs on her but the fact she hasn’t perhaps means he has something over her?
Peeking at Professor Deus, I see him muttering to himself while taking notes of something.

“Takumi’s behavior memo, number 31. Typically does not display even the slightest amount of a strong person’s aura. His movement when retreating behind the stone was at the level of an E class adventurer. I believe he is appearing weak in order to lower my guard”

I’m not appearing to be weak, I really am!
Wait what do you mean by number 31?
Have you collected that much data since you came here!?

“Takumi’s behaviour memo, number 32. I conclude that the fact he hasn’t retaliated against Ex means that his methods of attack are unsuitable for restraining her. I believe that any attack he uses is too powerful to hold back and it is impossible for him to touch Ex without destroying her”

No no, no matter what attack, it’ll be so weak that I won’t be able to touch her.

“Aah, that’s right. You should give up on waiting for your allies to come save you. I’ve activated the complete territory isolation system in order to prevent anyone from coming”

So that’s why neither Reia or Sasha have come despite how noisy it’s been.

“Takumi’s behaviour memo, number 33. Considering the great damage the explosives can cause, I conclude that the fact he has not attacked at all is that he is concerned about hurting his allies. I believe either Divine Possession Reia, Princess Sasha, or perhaps both have value as hostages”

Although compared to the other two, it would be much simpler turning me into a hostage.

“Ex, use the rocket launcher to blast that rock away, I want to measure his defense”
“Understood. Please remove the explosives afterwards ok”

This is bad.
I can no longer deal with them on my own.
The moment I thought that.
The bell attached to my waist rings.
Nuruhachi’s transfer bell.
Like an explosion, light flows from the bell.

“The Great Sages teleportation magic is it. Interesting. Will you be able to break through the system I constructed I wonder”

[Alert. Intruder Detected. The Intrusion Prevention System Will Now Activate]

I hear a mechanical voice from out of nowhere.
At the same time, numerous mathematical formulas float in the sky.
I don’t know if it’s calculating something but it’s a series of numbers I don’t understand.

“Calculation Complete. The Transmission Of Material That Has Been Disassembled To A Subatomic Level Has Been Detected. Executing A Reverse Transmission”

A vortex of numbers swirl around the bell of transfer, covering the light.
They rapidly constrict before vanishing along with the light.

“Alert Terminated. The Intruder Has Been Removed”

The bell gives off light no more.

“It’s my win. Great Sage Nuruhachi”

A glowing smile appears on Professor Deus’ face.
Not even Nuruhachi’s teleportation magic works?
This guy is more dangerous than I thought.

“As expected of the Professor. Then it’s my turn!”

Ex slouches over and points the rocket launcher on her back towards the stone.
I’m in big trouble now.

“Ex Launcher, firing away!”

Along with a thunderous roar, the rock before me is blown away.
I too was blown away helplessly by the explosion…..

…..huh?

I’m completely unharmed
There’s no trace of the stone before me left.
However, in it’s place, something else is protecting me.

Standing there is a dark coloured girl.
Her pointed red eyes gleam.
She’s about as tall as me, with long white hair.
She has black horns like a mou on the sides of her head and large black wings on her back.
In addition, her unusually large hands have sharp claws extending out.
She has a swimsuit like cloth over her chest, but it’s fairly small and smooth.

For a moment I mistook her for Chloe.
But there are minor differences here and there.
Plus I immediately knew who this woman is.

“Impossible, it can’t be! Summoning someone without my system even noticing!?”

Professor Deus’ complacent expression turns to that of shock.

“It can’t be, it can’t be! Takumi’s behaviour memo, number 34. Ch-Chantless, magic tool-less summoning confirmed. Un-Undetected by the complete territory isolation system. Impossible, how can this be! Not even the god of creation should be able to pass through my system!?”

Yeah, that’s cause I didn’t summon her.
She’s been here from the start.
Ever since the Great Martial Tournament, she hasn’t responded when I talked to her.
As if returning to a normal sword, she’s been sleeping quietly on my hip.

“Takumi! Just who are you! Do you mean to be the one who will overturn the foundations of this world!? Of science!?”

Distraught, Professor Deus collapses as he screams.

“Takkun”

Hearing her voice after so long warms my heart.

“Say it”

She looks me in the eyes for the first time and speaks to me.
Her voice exactly the same as the one that I’d heard in my head before.

“I’m glad you understand. That’s exactly right”

I match Karna’s gaze and speak with a smile.

Nice to meet you Karna.

I whisper within my heart.


Translator’s Notes:

If you enjoy my work and want to support me you can make a donation here.


Previous Chapter | Table of Contents | Next Chapter

One thought on “A Misunderstood Mentor 42 – Professor Deus’ Miscalculation

  1. This girl… Karna, Nerissha, Sasha, rick, thief. And possibly demon lord are the ones who know and maintain his misunderstandings..

    Like

Leave a comment