Great Sage 33 – You Still Can’t Understand


After Queen’s old memories finished playing, I was in a bright white void.

Only Queen is here, cuddling close to me in her mid twenties form…..
It appears I’m still in the spirit world.

“As promised, I’ll remove a [Shackle], Darling”

Queen takes the spiritual body of the onmyouji known as Ashiya that I had absorbed within myself from out of thin air and opens her mouth wide before eating it whole.

“That’s bad for your stomach”
I speak with a sigh,

“Yeah, but this isn’t enough to give me a stomachache I think? If they weren’t Darling’s fated enemy then it would be better to just squish him”

Certainly, if I wasn’t oblivious to the existence of magic at the time, I wouldn’t have fallen for such a simple trap.

“With this, the curse that was cast on Darling has been removed, so I figured I’d take this as one or my rewards or something”
The way she narrows her red eyes and licks her lips is strangely erotic.

“It can’t be helped, don’t worry I’ll properly reward you this time”

Thanks to those precious metals, my wallet is full.
No matter how great of a glutton Queen is, I should be able to manage.

“Yaaay! Then maybe I’ll ask for the sweets of this worldー”
I watch the delighted Queen,

“Then, wait a moment”
She rests her hand gently over my head and speaks an incantation.

“This will probably please that parent and child with the eyes but….. the one closest to Darling is me so I definitely won’t lose”

Queen rests her head on my shoulder while speaking.


My body slowly awakens and when I open my eyes, I find myself still in the Lithomanmari Trade Associations branch manager office.

Queen shines a pale light and begins to disappear.
Our eyes meet and she winks at me before her body vanished and turns back into a chess piece.

“Are you alright”
Yuikuu comes up to me.

“I’m fine now. How long was I out for”
“Just a few seconds……”

Looking at my surroundings, not much has changed since before I lost consciousness.

Facing up, a large hole has opened in the ceiling.
Yuikuu cuts the rope binding Alona-san and she straightens out her clothes with a strained smile.

Just in case I deploy search magic but the traces of the Shimogami and the other world have both vanished from the building.

Just a dozen unconscious people on the rooftop.
Checking on the first floor, it seems that Maya-chan and the others have finished evacuating.

The headache and chills are gone, and the curious discrepancy in my search magic is gone too.
If anything the magic is more stable than before and swelling with strength.

――Queen must have turned that vengeful spirit into energy and completely eliminated the curse.

I take a deep breath, the mission is over for the time being,

“Leave the guys on the roof to me, they’ll be useful in negotiating with the head temple and Shimogami later. Could you look after the young lady and the other employees that evacuated?”

Yuikuu smiles and pats me on the shoulder,
“Oh yeah, I’ll also look for a store that serves sweets”

He whispers in my ear in a low voice so that Alona-san cannot hear.


   × × × × ×


It’s been five days and I can’t track down the people from the other world.

Based on their personality I thought they would attack again without delay but it seems there are some circumstances on their side.


I’m concerned about Ange but I have no choice but to reorganise and prepare so that they won’t be able to run away again.

I’ve come to the Lithomanmari Trade Association once again to cleanup the aftermath of the attack and meet for what to do next.

“Don Silent, comrade Alona is currently on the phone. My apologies but could you please wait here for a moment”

Ever since then, the attitudes from the black suits have grown even more exaggerated and spiraled out of control in a strange way.
They lead to me an extravagant reception room next to the branch head office, rather than tea, I smell the rich scent of brandy and caviar.

I sit down on the sofa and tilt my head as if to ponder having alcohol in the morning,

“Is it not to your liking….. Vladimir, there’s still some platinum Don Perignon left right, bring it over immediately!”

The young man names Vladimir runs out in a panic but stops when Alona-san enters the room.

The black suits with blond hair lower their heads before leaving,
“Sorry about that. Those guys are in high spirits….. after losing the lives of so many comrades in civil wars and wars of aggression, they’re probably happy to find someone they can truly respect”
I can’t agree with the direction their respect is taking though,

“What’s with Don Silent”

Alona-san sits on the sofa opposite me and elegantly takes the brandy glass I didn’t touch.

“A hero from an old Japanese comic it seems. Mikhail said that you we’re just like him and it spread within the group”

Mikhail was with my brother for the first raid so it seems he’s part of the the top in this mafia.

I shake my head slowly,
“I’ve received contact from Yuikuu. We can’t allow ourselves to be hit and not retaliate so please allow us to assist you”

Alona-san mumbles before returning the glass to the low table.

“I’ll be bothering you again though”

“It’s not a bother at all. Your magic is what restored the building back to normal and healed the wounds of our comrades. If anything, everyone’s too fired up”

Alona-san brings her elf like well featured face close to me.

“Besides it’s a chance to stand up to the superpowered of this country. You probably don’t understand how great of a deal this is though”

She takes the glass into her hand once again and smiles.

Just in case, I scattered some chess pieces around the Lithomanmari Trade Association and my brothers place of work.
I’m worried about various things but I left a pawn in a place that would stand out by magical means.

My brothers workplace [Bright Urban Planning], has been successfully restored too but the president got scared from that incident and resigned so the Lithomanmari Trade Association seems to be buying it as another base.

“First you should do something about that name and vulgar mascot”


I complain to Alona-san


   × × × × ×


In the afternoon I transfer over to the Chiyo Onsen Inari Shrine,
“Master over here, over here!”

Haruka, with cat ears and wearing a maid uniform, notices me flying in the air and waves at me happily.

Doing so the beautiful girls in shrine maiden clothes doing cleaning or preparing food around the shrine raise their heads. The youma that were being controlled by the Shimogami are currently taking refuge at Onsen Inari.

“Even though I was using simple concealment magic, you did well to notice me”
I pat Haruka’s head,
“I could smell masters scent after all”
Her two tails wag happily.

There were beastfolk in the other world with good noses too but none that could detect me in the air from this distance. Her combat sense is high and she has leadership skills too, so the others have been calling her [Older Sister] recently.

“Good afternoon Boss!”
It’s a spectacle seeing over twelve beautiful girls bow towards me but…..

It seems that they’ve started calling me Boss at their leader, Haruka’s, instructions.

“Why Boss?”

I once asked her,
“Because Master is my master only”
Smiling, she took my arm and happily said something I didn’t quite understand.

As of late, the sensation of Haruka’s well shaped chest on my arm causes my heart to pound…..

I felt like I would lose if I thought about it too deeply so I left it at that.

The superior officers of the Shimogami were taken by Yuikuu,
“Can I take them as bargaining chips? Don’t worry, I won’t do anything bad to them”
He said with an evil face as he dragged them to the Kashizu’s head temple or whatever along with the twin brothers.

I can’t help but wonder what happened to them…..

Chiyo san watched over the noisy state of Inari,
“They’re all energetic and polite so it’s been fun everyday”
Or so she says.

Although I may be paying for their living expenses right now, they won’t be able to take advantage of my kindness forever.

“Haruka, I got Alona-san’s approval for that plan”
I relayed to her what I spoke about this morning,

“Leave it all to me, Master!”
She hits her chest.

I feel somewhat concerned but she has the skills so it should be fine.
“You can contact Yuikuu for the details”

With that, I left Inari.

I wanted to meet Chiyo-san too but with the [Shackle of Affection] removed, I have no way to oppose that huge breasts attack.

“My Lord, there is some rubbish here…..”

Yesterday when we were alone, she pressed the previously mention items of destruction against me and gazed upwards at me.
As a result it took all I could to not push her down and I wasn’t able to talk to her properly. She probably heard from Moulin about the circumstances in the other world and thought I was getting troubled that things we’re not progressing and tried to cheer me up in her own way.

Since then my magic may have stabilised but the rhythm of my personal life has been disrupted.

Good grief, just what did Queen do?
As I ponder, the greatest source of my worry appears…..

I’ve returned to Kanako-chan’s home.


Translator’s Notes:

If you enjoy my work and want to support me you can make a donation here.


Previous chapter | Table of Contents | Next Chapter

One thought on “Great Sage 33 – You Still Can’t Understand

Leave a comment