A Misunderstood Mentor 14 – Nice to meet you


The fireball that Chloe fired landed in the centre of the goblin swarm.
The sound of an explosion rang out as a pillar of flame rose up.
A wave of scorching heat knocked down the surrounding trees, scattering flames around. In a single moment the goblins in the vicinity were destroyed.

“Foolish creatures, are you not aware who this person is. The king of us dragons, Takumi-dono”

Wrong. I’m not the king of dragons.
Or so I wanted to tell Chloe but her dragon form was scary so I quietly muttered it in my head instead.

“Are you alright Takumi-dono”
“Y- Yeah”

Chloe began to return to her human form.
Will her- Will her clothes be okay I wonder.
I turn away for a moment before looking again.
I don’t know how it works but somehow she was properly wearing clothes when she transformed back.
Thank goodness. Her dragon form may be fearsome, but her naked is even more so.

“I made haste to come to this mountain after receiving news that the goblin forces was invading”
“How did it come to this. All Reia did was defeat a few goblins at the farm…..”
“I heard a rumour in the town at the base of the mountain that Takumi-dono had single-handedly subjugated enough goblins to threaten a country though…..”

I cast a glance at Reia.
Ah, she avoided my gaze.

“It’s believed that the one who governs over all goblins, the goblin king, is commanding the goblin forces in order to defeat Takumi-dono”

Its become a very troublesome problem all of a sudden.
Isn’t this is at the level of a war.

“In order to swiftly deal with these pests, as subordinates of Takumi-dono, the dragon clan is currently making way to this location while engaging with the goblin forces. However despite how weak the goblins are, we cannot kill them all as there is simply too many of them”

“I- Is that so. Th- Thanks for your hard work”

Were it not for the efforts of the dragons, would even more goblins have come here I wonder.
Thanks dragons. You’re really reliable dragons. I still won’t be the king of dragons though.

“This situation will likely not be resolved until the one leading them, the goblin king, is defeated. However even with the power of the dragon clan, we are unable to locate the goblin king”
“There’s something I’ve heard before. If I recall correctly, the goblin king is capable of using magic to transform into any form it pleases”

While cracking her knuckles, Reia walks up to Chloe’s side.

“It’s a hassle but, as expected, we’ll have to deal with all the goblins here”

Has her strength that was drained by the demon sword returned I wonder.
Reia’s eyes seem to be glittering.

“That’s not going to work young miss, the goblins numbers are immeasurable. As if it was infini…..”

“Gobugobugobugobugobugobugobugobugobugobugobugobu”

It was just as Chloe said.
A new troop of goblins was ascending up the mountain like a tidal wave.

“Takumi-san, power recharge complete. I’m ready to go now”

Reia spoke while walking out before us.

“You just want to go wild don’t you?”
“Th- Thats n- not the case”

She’s definitely lying. Her eyes are moving all over the place.
I wonder if she’s been building up frustration since earlier when she couldn’t fight with her strength drained.

“D- Divine possession, Susanoo (King of Vermilion Sand)”1

Reia tried to change the subject by invoking divine possession.
Is that okay? Using divine possession for that kind of reason?

Reia’s body was dyed red and her arms girth swelled by more than double.

“I’m going to scatter them all”

Reia draws her katana and raises a war cry before triumphantly charging straight into the goblin horde.
With the sound of a great impact the goblins were blown away one by one.

“Chloe, do you think the goblin king is hidden amongst the goblin forces?”
“I am unsure, however too many goblins are gathering here. Is there anything suspicious nearby Takumi-dono?”

There is.
Since the beginning I felt a sense of discomfort.
It was strange to think that someone of Reias level would be unable to sense goblins tailing them.

What if the goblin king was disguised in the first place and Reia brought it here.

I look to the demon sword in my right hand, then to Chiharu at the entrance of the cave.
I don’t want to suspect that Chiharu is the goblin king.

“This demon sword can speak, isn’t that suspicious?”

Chloe stares at the demon sword.

“…..That’s not it Takumi-dono”

Chloe asserts definitely.

“An evil dragon deprived of its name. The disgrace of our dragon clan is sealed within that demon sword”

“Damn, I’ve been found out”

The demon sword clicked its tongue.
It seems it was related to the dragon race.
When I think about it sometimes he did speak with a similar dialect to Chloe.

“That being said, being able to calmly hold the demon sword that was said to be impossible to wield. Takumi-dono is as fearsome as expected”
“Well I guess you could say he’s fearsome”

It seems Chloe also can’t hear demon sword-san’s voice.
Could it be that only I, the one holding it, can hear?

“Again, ugly, lots, flying away”

Chiharu watched happily as Reia sends goblin after goblin flying.
If the demon sword isn’t the goblin king then, could Chiharu really be…..?

“Huh, that child…..?”
“Aah, that’s not right. Chiharu isn’t the goblin king”
“Eh, I know that. After all that child is Nu…..”
“Aaaaah, Chloe, don’t, say”

Chiharu calls out Chloe’s name.
Not just us, she also knows about Chloe.
The mystery behind Chiharu grows deeper.

Now the options for the goblin king has been reduced to one.
Reia brought back three things today.
The demon sword, Chiharu, and…..

I look at it as it moos and yawns carefreely.

If possible I didn’t want to suspect that it was the goblin king.
Because if that was the case, we drank the goblin king’s milk.

“Chloe, that’s not the goblin king is it?”
“I doubt it, but the possibility is there”

As Chloe approaches the mou I make a prayer.
Please, don’t let it be the goblin king.

Chloe raises her sharp talons over the mou.
But they never swung down.

A great wind pressure blew Chloe away.
She crashed into the wall right next me.

“Why aren’t you fairly perceptive, human”

What had once been a carefree mou had changed its appearance.

Aah, this is the end.
I’ve drunk the goblin kings milk.

In the midst of my unending despair I observe it’s appearance.

It’s fundamentally different to the other goblins.
Rather than the height of a child, it stood slender and tall.
Rather than green skin, it was an almost transparent white.
Rather than a large head with wide eyes, it had smooth long blue hair, emerald green eyes, and a handsome face.

Wearing a stylish suit, the goblin king placed his hand on his chest and bowed to me.

“Pleasure to meet you, I am the goblin king, Jusrack”

This isn’t the time to be listening to self introductions.
I cannot accept that the milk of goblin king is flowing within my body.

“Takumi, it’s okay”

Chiharu points towards the Goblin King Jusrack
A large bottle of mou milk was in it’s chest pocket.

“It can only imitate appearance, not abilities. Don’t worry. What you all drank was real mou milk”

Thank god, seriously.
Thank you goblin king.

“Now’s not the time to be giving thanks”

The demon sword warns me.

“It’s pretty strong, the goblin king”
“C- Can you help me out demon sword-san?”
“Impossible. I can only release my power once a day. Didn’t I say we were closed?”

How many troubles will I have to overcome before this night is over.
I swore to myself I’d never ask Reia to go on an errand ever again.

“Now then shall we”

The Goblin King Jusrack bowed once again.
His face smiling happily.

“Begin, Takumi-kun”

It appears that we won’t be able to talk it out

“N- Nice to meet you”2

With the most amicable smile I can make, I greet the goblin lord.


Translator’s Notes:
1: Japanese has a thing called furigana which is like text above a word that is used to indicate how that word is meant to be read. In this case the name ‘King of Vermilion Sand’ is read as Susanoo. While this is a reference to the Japanese deity, there are no stories related to that title and it was likely only chosen since the characters can be read Susanoo phonetically.
2: This was written in English using katakana whereas the title of this chapter was in written in English using the English alphabet.

And with this we’ve caught up so daily uploads are over. I know its self inflicted but this was pretty tiring. From now on it’ll be one chapter a week although I’m not sure what day yet.

If you enjoy my work and want to support me you can make a donation here.


Previous Chapter | Table of Contents | Next Chapter

2 thoughts on “A Misunderstood Mentor 14 – Nice to meet you

  1. Him drinking the Goblin Kings milk scared me.
    He’s also suprizingly perceptive, I’d like to have an assist that tells me where stuff is and cooks for me then an assist that can kill nations… i-it’s not like I’ll die with the nation one okay <-<

    Like

  2. I guess you can call that priorities? Did he or did he not drink milk from a goblin king? xD

    Reminds me of Meet the Fockers and the father asks Greg if you could milk the father. xD

    Like

Leave a comment